Get To Know Nazira Moosa Of ZIRA COOKS And WIN

Today I have brought you something that is a little bit different, I am introducing to you Nazira Moosa. She’s the new hot and happening cook with a mission. She wants to teach the world how to cook ZIRA style.


I recently sat down with this cook at heart where we chatted about her newly launched business and her love for cooking. Read our interview below and find out how you can win a set of Crystal Glasses from ZIRA.

How long have you been in the cuisine industry for?

I’ve been in the kitchen since I was 9 years old, but decided to launch this brand this year after moving back to Durbs. I have stayed in Cape Town and Joburg.

When did you know you wanted to be a chef?

I have always wanted to be a cook.

What fascinates you about the kitchen?

Colours fascinate me in the kitchen. Just imagine a green, yellow and red pepper all cut up and into the pan… Those myriad of colours excite me.

What games do you enjoy to play in the kitchen?

Games …. mmmm…. I Can’t tell 😉

What is the longest you ever worked without a break in the kitchen? (every chef has had a busy Saturday night to remember) 

Something like 8 hours in a pair of Jimmy Choos…. Eish that was painful.

 If you could dress any way you want, what would you wear in the kitchen

My stilettos, my stilettos and my stilettos … They just make me feel extra special.

What was your biggest mistake when you were a brand new chef?

No mistakes yet.

What would you say will be the best qualities one should have to become not only a good chef, but one who will be sought after by people of discriminating taste? 

Humility, spunk and an eye for detail.

What was your worst kitchen disaster? 

We cooks have disasters everyday but the trick is to be able to fix them.

How long does it take to become a sous chef then the master or executive chef? 

I am not a chef … I’m a cook – so I’m not sure of how long it takes to study to become a chef.

Is there any cooking competition for chefs nationally and internationally you’ve ever thought of entering? 

I don’t do competitions so I have never thought of entering any.

What would you say is your best masterpiece in the kitchen

I make the meanest rice concoctions.

Can you describe a prize-winning Dish? 

Avocado mousse. People couldn’t get over that you could use avocado in a desert.

Avocado Mousse

Avocado Mousse

What do you think is the Hardest dish to cook? 

Creme Brulle.

Creme Brulle

Creme Brulle

What do you love most about what you do?

I put smiles on faces with my cooking

Message of motivation to up and coming chefs;

Cook with LOVE … Theres no other way. It will show in the result.
and Never be afraid to try something… Its all about creativity.
Competition TIME. Follow @ZIRACooks on Instagram and Twitter @ZIRACooks and LIKE her Facebook Page to stand a chance to WIN a set of Crystal Glasses. I will be announcing the lucky winner next Monday via my Facebook page. GOOD LUCK!

« Previous Entries

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes